How do I know how much weight I should be using?SL5x5

Options
I am a total newbie to strength training. How do I know how much weight I should be using? (I am doing stronglifts 5x5).

Do you do a rep, see if it's too easy, then add weight?

If that's the case, then I would like to not count that rep, but I'm worried that if I keep doing that, by the time I find the right weight I will be too tired to actually do the 5x5 reps.

What is your experience?

Also, people who do stronglifts - what were your starting weights and what can you lift now? Mostly interested in ladies, but anyone who started as a beginner will help!

Replies

• SezxyStef
    SezxyStef Posts: 15,268 Member
    Options
    as per the write up

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/560459-stronglifts-5x5-summary

since you are a woman you start with the bar (45lbs) for all lifts except DL and I believe that one starts are 90lbs. esp as a new lifter. If you have an olympic bar start with that, if it's standard use that plus 25lbs

I started 8 months ago at 60lbs on all my lifts except OHP which I started at 40 and DL @ 75 (just because I had never done that lift before) but that being said I am not new to lifting either.

After 8 months my current PRs (personal records are as follows:

Squat 180
    BP 125
    Row 125
    OHP 90
    DL 200
  • loriemn
    loriemn Posts: 292 Member
    Options
    just lift and see where you are at the first day,,you actually should have a pretty good idea of what you can lift anyway,,I live on a farm,do a lot of manual labor anyway,so I started out probably heavier then most women do,if you fail to make the 5 sets,lower the weight for the next time until you can do all 5 sets,then start to up the weight.
  • dixiewhiskey
    dixiewhiskey Posts: 3,333 Member
    Options