Is it all in my head?

Options
I am wondering if anybody else is in the same boat as me - I have been reading through some of the success stories on here and I am hoping that you might be able to share your experience.

I have 30kgs (66 pounds) to lose and feel like I have been dieting for about the last 10+ years. I have some small short term success & then just completely "fall off the wagon" every time. I am feeling really depressed & desperate about it as I so want to succeed and am so unhappy with myself as I am, but can't understand why I fail every time, I know I have a short attention span, and really lack "sticking power" but am honestly not sure where to turn next.

I feel like my failing is kind of coming down to a psychological issue, I guess essentially an eating disorder whereby I just overeat all the time. I might diet successfully for a 2 or 3 weeks but then completely binge and am back to where I was (or worse off) in no time.

Has anybody here ever met with therapists/hypnosis for anything like this, I am starting to feel like I'll never be able to succeed if its a mental thing that is stopping me sticking to it. I just can't understand why I can never stick to something even though I so desperately want it!

Your advice is so very much appreciated :0)

Replies

• cosmichvoyager
    cosmichvoyager Posts: 237 Member
    Options
    it could help to speak with a therapist to try and figure out if there's something leading you to binge eating. I'd also advise to "shop around" for a therapist you feel is really useful and helpful.

Good luck! you are worth it.
  • the8BitGirl
    the8BitGirl Posts: 38 Member
    Options
    I don't really have any advice, because in a lot of ways I feel exactly the same way you do... I just wanted to say you're in a good place to get encouragement and motivation here. Just keep logging in. :)
  • aqualeo1
    aqualeo1 Posts: 331 Member
    Options