Are heart rate monitors trustworthy in calorie burn?

Options
So i did a zumba class today and my average BPM is 153 going as high as 175. 153 is supposed to be 82% of my max HR if going by the 220 -age formula. My question is the app spits out that i burned ~1050 calories and i checked on 2 calculators online which takes into my weight, height, duration, average BPM and spitted out very similar numbers with one spitting out a lower "net" number because it subtracted out the calories during that time the body uses for "normal maintenance" so its net calorie of 940ish is the calories lost by exercise. My question is how accurate is all this? The HRM is a chest piece so i guess it is pretty accurate but then it comes down to the formula? I am very happy if the number of calories burned is close to whats shown but i dont want to be too happy when reality i burned like 400 calories...

Replies

• HerkMeOff
    HerkMeOff Posts: 1,002 Member
    Options
    They are about as close as you're going to get.
  • SLLRunner
    SLLRunner Posts: 12,942 Member
    Options
    Only for steady state cardio, which Zumba is not.
  • DavPul
    DavPul Posts: 61,406 Member
    Options
    ain't nobody burning no 1000 calories in no zumba class
  • PikaKnight
    PikaKnight Posts: 34,971 Member
    Options
    Only for steady state cardio, which Zumba is not.
    ^This
    ain't nobody burning no 1000 calories in no zumba class

And ^this.

Some interesting reads in regards to HRMs if interested:

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/1044313-this-is-why-hrms-have-limited-use-for-tracking-calories

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/blog/Azdak/view/the-real-facts-about-hrms-and-calories-what-you-need-to-know-before-purchasing-an-hrm-or-using-one-21472
  • heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    Options
    Sadly for women there is huge bell curve for accuracy, and even the 220-age for HRmax you have better chance of being 10 bpm away from that then in range.