new to running on roads

Options
Apple31415
Apple31415 Posts: 98 Member
I've recently lost enough weight to run on roads without tearing up my knees. I'm still a big guy (6'5" 238). There is a road right outside my house that seems perfect. It is exactly .4 miles to bottom of a 5% incline (and obv. .4 back up). Been doing hill repeats on this at about a 10 minute mile pace. 4-6 trips in total. Started out as a good alternative to driving to gym to do elliptical (and occassional treadmill) if i'm in a time pinch, but I've begun doing it more and more as the weather is nice now. Any advice from runners on how to run hills and avoid injury? (esp. at my size) any particular stretching techniques? What would be too often? I've not yet experienced any pain after doing this last couple of weeks 3 or 4 times a week, but i'm nervous since i'm new to road running. I live in the mountains and finding a route without significant hills is impossible.

Replies

• thavoice
    thavoice Posts: 1,326 Member
    Options
    I've recently lost enough weight to run on roads without tearing up my knees. I'm still a big guy (6'5" 238). There is a road right outside my house that seems perfect. It is exactly .4 miles to bottom of a 5% incline (and obv. .4 back up). Been doing hill repeats on this at about a 10 minute mile pace. 4-6 trips in total. Started out as a good alternative to driving to gym to do elliptical (and occassional treadmill) if i'm in a time pinch, but I've begun doing it more and more as the weather is nice now. Any advice from runners on how to run hills and avoid injury? (esp. at my size) any particular stretching techniques? What would be too often? I've not yet experienced any pain after doing this last couple of weeks 3 or 4 times a week, but i'm nervous since i'm new to road running. I live in the mountains and finding a route without significant hills is impossible.