Think I might be eating too few calories...

Options
Hi everyone,

So, I'll dive right in to the problem. I weigh 148lbs at 5'4, and I'd ideally like to get down to around 125-130 lbs, but I'm also wanting to change my body composition.

I'm a grad student, so my days are legitimately sedentary, but I run (burning 200-300 calories) 3 times a week and I go on frequent walks during the week. I put MFP's options as sedentary, which might be my problem.

When I use this website: http://iifym.com/iifym-calculator/ to calculate, my BMR is 1413 and my TDEE is 1942. MFP has me eating 1250 calories a day and I constantly feel like I'm starving. Are my calories just too low? What should I be eating at?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Replies

• aliakynes
    aliakynes Posts: 352 Member
    Options
    Switch to lightly active and see how that feels. If you're walking frequently you shouldn't be set at sedentary.
  • Flutterloo
    Flutterloo Posts: 122 Member
    Options
    Sounds to me like you should at least have it at lightly active. I think sedentary is more for people who work sitting down all day, then come home and stay sitting most of the night. I'm no expert though. Good luck!
  • PJPrimrose
    PJPrimrose Posts: 916 Member
    Options
    Lightly active sounds good to me too. If you start to put on weight after a couple weeks (weight fluctuates short term a lot) then I'd think about eating less.
  • MagicalGiraffe
    MagicalGiraffe Posts: 102 Member
    Options
    Having a little look at your diary, just for today your lunch didn't really contain foods that would help you feel more satiated. Maybe try introduce foods that would be more filling into your meals? So some more protein and starchy carbs as a suggestion.
  • stephe1987
    stephe1987 Posts: 406 Member
    Options