Real Number of Calories Burned...does anyone know?

Options

Replies

• kethry70
    kethry70 Posts: 404 Member
    Options
    I occasionally use a HRM at my typical classes and use the average burn to add here. But I still only eat <= half the calories back - in part because my MFP settings are already at a small cut - less than .5 lb a week. I also tend to eat out too much on the weekends so it helps me manage those guesstimates and overages better :p

Anyway, previous posters are right - use the most accurate tools you can but just be aware that there are limitations to all of them because they are all based on formulas and statistics :D
  • DavPul
    DavPul Posts: 61,406 Member
    Options
    I'm new to this and I don't understand why it adds back calories after you've exercised to burn them off in the first place. I stopped adding my exerise so it won't add any back because eating back what I've earned I don't think it will help me too lose, maybe i'm wrong. Any advice?

You're wrong. The deficit is already built in to the program. MFP is set up so that you're eating to your calorie goal and you're exercising for fitness. Eating the calories back ensures that your deficit isn't doesn't become too large and unsafe
  • SnuggleSmacks
    SnuggleSmacks Posts: 3,731 Member
    Options
    I use a Body Media Armband. Best out there...so far.

Yes, I just got mine a few days ago, and it's been very enlightening, and a tremendous help.

26b57437c12a177e1aedbaedc1f805b3.jpg
  • stephanne13
    stephanne13 Posts: 212 Member
    Options