Folks who have lost 50+ pounds

Options

Replies

• perseverance14
    perseverance14 Posts: 1,364 Member
    Options
    I started lifting weights and eating my TDEE minus 20%, and I am losing. When I was eating 1400-1500 I wasn't losing as much, lower calories might be good to get out of obese range, but then you should workout and eat more.
  • missylectro
    missylectro Posts: 448 Member
    Options
    How would you calculate it based on actual progress?

If you're accurately logging calories, then you know how much you are eating every day.

If you're weighing yourself regularly (at the same time of the day), you know approximately how much weight you've lost over a given period. (It can be more accurate to use an exponentially smoothed weighted average - see John Walker, The Hacker's Diet, http://www.fourmilab.ch/hackdiet/e4/)

With those figures, you can calculate your actual TDEE as follows:

Add up the number of calories you ate in the period. To that number, add 3500 times the weight you have lost in pounds. That will be your Total Energy Expenditure for the period. Divide by the number of days in the period to get TDEE.

Example: My weight on March 31 was 163.18. On April 30, it was 162.11, so I lost 1.07 lb. in April. I logged 63,203 calories in April. So my total energy expenditure for April was 63203 + 1.07 * 3500 = 69948. April has 30 days, so my TDEE was 69948/30 = 2231.6. Of course that's a daily average. I logged 14424 exercise calories, using fairly accurate HRMs, for an average 480.8 exercise calories a day, so my NEAT (Non-Exercise Activity Thermogenesis) was about 1750.8.

According to a few TDEE calculators, my NEAT should be around 1950. That suggests one of two things: (1) I've been missing up to 200 calories a day, which is entirely possible (see http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12396160), or (2) I'm experiencing adaptive thermogenesis--but 200 calories a day is a pretty big AT effect. It's probably a mixture of both.