Strength Training

Options
Hi! I'm a newbie.
I have a quick question ... how come when I enter my strength training it doesn't calculate any calories for this ...aren't I burning 'some' calories doing the weight training in addition to the cardio.

Replies

• littlebrownbat3
    littlebrownbat3 Posts: 54 Member
    Options
    I have no idea why it doesn't, but MFP won't if you don't also enter the length of time you did it under cardio. In cardio there is an option for weight lifting, there you can find the number of calories burned
  • KingRat79
    KingRat79 Posts: 125 Member
    Options
    Becouse strength training in itself burns very few calories. where the strength training helps with weight loss is by increasing your muscle mass, which requires more calorie to maintain and therefore increases your BMR
  • contingencyplan
    contingencyplan Posts: 3,639 Member
    Options
    The strength training section of the exercise log does not calculate calorie burns. That is not its purpose. Its purpose is to keep track of your lifts. Only stuff logged under the cardio section (which strength training is an entry under) actually counts as calorie burns.
  • MRSpivey
    MRSpivey Posts: 270 Member
    Options
    Becouse strength training in itself burns very few calories. where the strength training helps with weight loss is by increasing your muscle mass, which requires more calorie to maintain and therefore increases your BMR