Doctor ORDERED me not to lose any more weight

Options

Replies

• sportyredhead01
    sportyredhead01 Posts: 482 Member
    Options
    My husband (he's 31, 6'4 and about 183) was told the same thing by his doctor.

We changed out eating habits about 2-3 years ago and he used to be about 210.
    He thought it was hilarious since he was actually happy with losing his gut finally.

He's a carpenter and a brick mason so he doesn't formally exercise or try to diet at all.
    He just works hard and eats tons of (now better) food.

So I say just do what you feel. It's your life.:drinker:
  • nxd10
    nxd10 Posts: 4,570 Member
    Options
    My doctor said that to me when I was 10 pounds heavier than I am now. She was thrilled with my weight loss but said 'don't lose more'. My BMI then was okay, but defiitely not low. I said I wanted to get to my current weight (150) and that was where I was when I graduated from college and after both babies. She said 'fine'. I have.

I think they worry you'll become eating disordered. But you aren't underweight. Work at fitness and what happens will happen.

Good luck.
  • Veil5577
    Veil5577 Posts: 868 Member
    Options
    I think some (not all) doctors also don't want you to lose weight and get healthy because then you won't have to see them as often..
  • Archon2
    Archon2 Posts: 462 Member
    Options
    I think some (not all) doctors also don't want you to lose weight and get healthy because then you won't have to see them as often..

Ah, I see you took Cynicism 101 as well, eh? :)
  • bcattoes
    bcattoes Posts: 17,299 Member
    Options
    no medical reason at all

didn't really feel like asking him "why," perhaps I did not want to make him suggest I'm anorexic or something.
    Medical reason or not, if a doctor orders you to do something you should always ask why?

This ^^ I could see not asking if he said you didn't need to lose more because you were healthy, or even if he suggested you not lose more.