We are going to a buffett!!! Oh-No!

Options
JeepBaja
JeepBaja Posts: 1,824 Member
The bad news... my 5th anniversary is Friday and the better half and I are going to celebrate tonight. Which means the two of us are going out with two friends to the Chumash Seafood Buffet.

The good news... I am not much of a seafood person. I pretty much only like Fish & Chips... Shrimp in various flavors like fried or grilled. This buffet will allow you two lobster tails but I don't eat lobster... never have. The buffet does have Prime Rib, now we are talking!

So I have no idea how I will track my calories today. I am going to eat a light lunch because I do look forward to having dinner but I also know I need to keep an eye on my calorie count. I don't think I'll break out my iPhone and do the count during dinner so I will rely on remembering what I ate and just go from there...

I am new to this and so far calorie counting with my normal (almost) daily walk with the dog is making a big difference. I see the calorie count almost as if it is a game and I am winning :) I guess I am just going to have to let myself cheat or whatever you call it once in a while and look at the overall picture, not what I just did or what I am about to do.

Any tips on how to track the calories without disrupting the dinner? We are all casual and close friends... I doubt they would care if I did do so...

Replies

• gambitsgurl
    gambitsgurl Posts: 632 Member
    Options
    Not much conversation at the table with your iphone out throughout dinner (lmao - I know this cause I've done this).

The hard part is we don't know the choices available. There will be a salad bar so pick the veggies and not the toppings that taste good. Limit the number of pieces of bread you get. Of course avoid the fried choices but also, if it's yummy and yellow and glistening know there's butter on that choice.