Sprint Triathlon Training

Options
amgreenwell
amgreenwell Posts: 1,268 Member
I am beginning a 6 week training session today for a Sprint Triathlon in August (exactly 6 weeks away). I will be using my gym's pool to train and the occassional lake swim when I can. I will be using the spin bike for my first week, at least, of training as I don't have a road bike yet. I will also use treadmill and outdoor running for training. Mostly outdoor as I know the 2 mile segment we will run on the day of the event and it is close to my gym and work.
I have swim suit (for training), cap, goggles, good running shoes, etc...but no tri-gear yet. I know i'll be needing a tri-suit (or seperates) and a quick-drying tri sports bra. As this six weeks goes on I expect to learn quite a bit about myself and the training required.

Please share any tips, hints or suggestions as this is my first sprint triathlon and I am a SUPER newbie!!
btw the distances are: swim .25mile, bike 8.2 miles, run 2miles

Replies

• amgreenwell
    Options
    bump
  • jchite84
    jchite84 Posts: 467 Member
    Options
    Welcome to the sport! It's a lot of fun. As far as gear goes, can't say too much about female gear, but you can get a cheap pair of tri shorts from Saucony, as far as the top...you are on your own.

Bike: get a bike sooner rather than later and train on it, get comfortable with it, as you will spend a majority of your time on it. For your first race, ride what you've got. I've seen people ride mountain bikes and beach cruisers. I ride an early 80's steel frame racing bike.