How often do you weigh yourself?

Options
I'm new to this and want to know what others do...

I've been weighing in once a week. Is that about right?

Thx,

JC

Replies

• YukiAsuna
    YukiAsuna Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    Yeah that's fine. Just make sure you do it at the same time of day as well. So if you weigh in on Monday mornings make sure you make your weekly weigh in on Monday mornings only. Weight can fluctuate throughout the week from 3-5lbs or sometimes even higher/lower weights. It can make you absolutely nuts if you weigh in every single day and you can become unhealthily obsessed with the scale. I also do measurements so that when the scale doesn't budge I have another weight of measuring my progress and having non scale victories.
  • no_russian
    no_russian Posts: 893 Member
    Options
    I do it daily. I think it's fine since I don't freak out at the daily fluctuations,
  • IHateThinkingOfAUsername
    Options
    I do it daily. I think it's fine since I don't freak out at the daily fluctuations,

This.
    There are a lot of opinions on this ranging from never to multiple times a day. The important thing is to find out what works for you. If you get too hung up on that number then even once a week maybe too frequent (depending on how much you have to lose and slowly you want to do it). But on the other hand you maybe a numbers geek (like me) and have little emotional investment attached to them, in which case you could probably handle more frequently.

At the end of the day as long as your eating right* you will lose weight, then the number on the scale is irrelevant as you will reach your target eventually. Don't forget all the other non-scale-victories and ways to measure success (photos, body measurements etc).

*disclaimer- by right I mean in order to successfully create a deficit. I am not a believer of right and wrong foods or eating methods.
  • tiggsnanny
    tiggsnanny Posts: 366 Member
    Options
    I weigh daily too :smile: