Want to do a 5k but my achilles won't let me start....

Options
Hi gang,

HELP! I've been working out regularly for the last two months. Every other day I alternate between 60 minutes walking on the treadmill (3.5 mph / 3.5-6.0 incline) and 20 minutes weights/30 minutes treadmill. And, there is at least one day off each week.

I've been wanting to start the C25K program. BUT, even on week 1 day 1 I cannot get through the program. My achilles gets extremely painful and then makes it hard to walk for a few days.

I have tried to start the program 3 times now. What am I doing wrong? I am running wrong? Is it because I am on a treadmill? Is there something I need to stretch? I've NEVER run before so I am sure it's something I am doing.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I really want to step up my treadmill time so it's more of a quality workout.

Replies

• Hophead43
    Hophead43 Posts: 1,634 Member
    Options
    Hey, I had the same issue but I didn't come till week 6. For all the advice I got the 2 best pieces were to 1) Get a good pair of quality running shoes that are right for your gait. 2) Only strech after you run.

I usually walk for 2 mins to warm up and then start my jogging. You can also look up Good Form Running, that help me alot in the beginnng as well. Last thing I will say is to try and run outside as often as possible. It really is a big difference between that and the treadmill and the 5K will not be on a treadmill. Go luck to you and I will be running my first offical race this Oct!! Go get em.
  • _Waffle_
    _Waffle_ Posts: 13,049 Member
    Options
    http://runnersconnect.net/running-injury-prevention/achilles-tendonitis-and-insertional-achilles-tendinopathy-in-runners/