don't want to be emotional derailed during family event

Options
I don't know which forum to post this in. Since I'm just getting started, I guess this is as good as any.
I have a certain trigger that will cause me to abandon my weight loss goals for many months. I have just started feeling in control again, and am making great choices. I'm completely dedicated at the moment.
I'm about to face this trigger on Sunday. Its my annual family get together. My family is obsessed with talking about how people look, and their weight. They will undoubtedly say things like "ohhhhh you looook soooo gooood" when its clear that I am too heavy. My mother is extremely thin and her sister is an exercise anorexic (needs to work off calories immediately after eating them.) They are obsessed with it, so they talk about it - and that triggers me.
It doesn't help that last time we had this event I was also this heavy, then I lost a bunch of weight, then we had a 3 year hiatus because of my grandmother's death, and now 3 years later, here I am looking the same. Its like a reminder that I have accomplished nothing.
God this turned out kind of bloggy.
My question - what strategies can I use to keep my head in the game? I'm thinking self-talk mantras, and changing topics off of body/food, but the latter isn't easy, and I know I will internalize a lot of shame regardless.
Help me get through this please.

Replies

• Jess__I__Can
    Jess__I__Can Posts: 307 Member
    Options
    I wish I knew what to say to help you. Maybe before you go, you need to remind yourself what you are doing to help yourself. And maybe you need to tell them to shut the hell up. I don't know.

Get rid of all binge-y foods and stock up on veggies before you go.

Best of luck.
  • doctorregenerated
    doctorregenerated Posts: 188 Member
    Options
    I just want to clarify also, after rereading my my post.