Running - push through the pain?

Options
Hi,

I started running a few weeks back. I even joined a running group in my neighborhood.
I like running. It is fun, it is free and I have been making great progress but...

... I have been experiencing mild discomfort in my knees and ankles after runs. Not so much while I am running, more in between runs. I have thought to myself that this is normal because I am new to running, that my muscles are just getting used to it.

Yesterday was the first time that I experienced pain during my run, so I was not able to runs as far or for as long as I would have liked to. Today I went for another run and straight from the beginning I felt great pain in my ankles and tibiae. I thought to myself that I should just push through the pain and kept going. After only 3K I just had to stop. The pain was excruciating and when I stopped I just fell to the ground in pain. I could not even stand up for a few minutes.

Now I am sitting in my living room sofa with frozen peas on my tibiae and ankles and I can just feel my ankles swelling up.

So... my question is: When should one listen to their body and stop running and when should they push though the pain? And... what can be done to prevent the pain or minimize it?

Replies

• Cherimoose
    Cherimoose Posts: 5,209 Member
    Options
    ... I have been experiencing mild discomfort in my knees and ankles after runs. Not so much while I am running, more in between runs. I have thought to myself that this is normal because I am new to running, that my muscles are just getting used to it.

Knees & ankles are not muscles, they are joints. Joint pain is never normal - it's a sign that something is wrong. There are many different reasons for getting knee & ankle pain. Sometimes it's as simple as wearing the wrong shoes or having sloppy running form, but often it requires a professional assessment to find & treat the cause. Best thing to do is to meet with a sports doctor or physical therapist.