My personal observation about losing for an event/vacation

ninerbuff
ninerbuff Posts: 48,940 Member
As a trainer, I get to meet and train a variety of people who's main intention is to lose weight. A good portion of my overall clientele through the years hired me to get them ready for an event/vacation. They'd pick me up from 2 months to a year out to ready themselves and usually after the event/vacation has passed, maybe only 10%-15% I'd ever see again in the gym. The usual reason for the training is to of course look good for the event/vacation and take pictures.

So here's the observation: The majority of people that I (or other peers) have trained and worked hard for an event, don't look that way a few months after. Once the event/vacation is over, a few months/years down the road, significant weight gain is obvious especially when comparing pictures from that event/vacation to now. I'm sure that after looking at them, lots have told themselves "that's when I used to be in shape". But now it's not as much of a concern due to "everyday" life. Some get depressed by it while some may get inspired to get back into shape. I don't find many doing the latter.

Then I have people who looked that their pictures from an event/vacation (who didn't train or prepare for it physically) and were horrified about how they looked. These people tell me of how unaware of how much they've really gained or how they didn't realize how they looked to others till they saw the pictures. And from that point I pick them up and train them because they don't want to look like that anymore.