Any Bakers or Food Service Professionals?

Options
Any bakers or food service professionals out there? I'm a baker myself and sampling the goods is probably the hardest thing not to do! What's your plan of attack? Any success stories? Do share.

Thanks!

Replies

• megsmom2
    megsmom2 Posts: 2,362 Member
    Options
    Pro cook here....I've found I have to just keep tasting to TASTING...not eating...and I do ok. Actually, I'm pretty bored with everything we serve, good as it is, so it isn't all that tempting anymore. I just sort of put it in a different mental category...this isn't food, this is just stuff I'm working on....
  • niqua215
    niqua215 Posts: 283 Member
    Options
    Being around sugar all the time, I'm going to have to learn to stop picking at things. That's a habit.
  • sassymanatee
    sassymanatee Posts: 102 Member
    Options
    I found this to be my biggest obstacle is working for a catering company and constantly being around free delicious food. So many weeks of plateauing was due to this. These are some things I had to do.
    1. Estimate how many calories on average the meals and snacks at work are. I found a day at work is usually 1000 calories on average so that's what I put in my food log.
    2. Make a habit to only drink water at work. I don't know about you, but at mine we have constant free coffee and soda and I learned that I was overdoing that perk. A couple times I have been tempted to drink a soda, but when that happens i make sure to not overdo it and measure how much so I can log it after work.
    3. Change diet settings. Before I had it loosing one pound a week. The thing is that so often I would accidently go over my calories because of one day at work where I ate over a thousand and it screwed up my week. So I adjusted to lose 1.5 pounds a week and I found it helps with extra wiggle room just in case something at work is way more calories than suspected.