Advice for body recomposition? Ladies?

Options
Hi there!

I've done a crap load of research since I decided to get fit and healthy, and have finally figured out what my end goal is. Lose fat and gain muscle/look like a sexy beast! I'm a petite gal with a small frame at 5'3-ish and 118 lb. Definitely not overweight, but I'm far from happy with how my body looks. For instance, the fat rolls on the tummy and flabby upper arms have always been a source of insecurity. In other words , I'm skinny-fat, since my body just feels soft and squishy everywhere... while my biceps and abs are pretty hard when I flex, most of the time they are invisible. I eat EXTREMELY CLEAN, at about 1200 cals a day, and do body weight strength training 6 times a week for 40 minutes. Very minimal cardio, maybe only once a week. What do you guys think of this regimen?

My main questions are about diet and exercise (how typical haha). Calorie wise, should I eat at maintenance or at a deficit? I'm a beginner, so I hear that's a "holy grail" period when losing fat and gaining muscle simultaneously is possible while in a deficit. True of false?

Oh, and a question out of curiosity, has anyone in my situation had success from using body weight strength training, based on Youtube videos?? Me, I'm seriously in love with Blogilates and do the "toning up" strength videos pretty much every day. It has only been 5 days, so definitely too soon to see results. Anyways, thank you all for taking the time to read this, and best of luck on reaching your own fitness goals!

Jessica

Replies

• BramageOMG
    BramageOMG Posts: 319 Member
    Options
    Re-comp, per the internet: is difficult. eat less:lose weight eat more, get bigger (muscles)