Hand Weights Weakness

jillcwhite
jillcwhite Posts: 181 Member
edited September 22 in Fitness and Exercise
I work out every morning. I use hand weights about 10 - 15 minutes at the end of my cardio. I have been using 8 pounds for about 9 months now. The last week or two they feel to heavy to me. I feel weaker. I struggle to do what I have been doing for months. Has anyone had this issue before? Does it pass? I was thinking of going down to 5 pound weights, but feel I need the 8 pounds to burn more calories. ( This is in a Jazzercise class)

Replies

• jamaka1
    jamaka1 Posts: 412 Member
    i believe it depends on how you feel from day 2 day, and do you do them when ur fatigue. i do weights and i feel the same way sometimes, just continue and push urself. REPEAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I CAN DO THIS
  • erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,294 Member
    Not sure how you are working out, but don't work the same muscle groups within 48 hours of each other. If you do biceps one day don't do them again for 2 to 3 days. Your muscles get bigger and stronger during the rest period, without rest your muscles will never recover and they will get weaker.
  • MartiWillett
    MartiWillett Posts: 103 Member
    you may be tired of the same routine. try switching it up. you may also be burnt out, try taking one days rest.
  • CGade
    CGade Posts: 46 Member
    Hang in there! Sometimes there are other factors that may contribute to the weakness...be kind to yourself, listen to your body. Maybe switch it up and try something else for a while...whatever feels right. Remember we are in this to help ourselves, not nazi bootcamp ourselves into submission. Take care!!!!
  • tross0924
    tross0924 Posts: 909 Member
    So you're still able to do it, but you just feel kinda weak right? Sometimes when I work out I'll feel weaker than normal, but I can still do everything; it just feels off. For me it's usually related to what, how much, and when I've eaten last.