What exercises help build the muscles for push ups?

Options
2»

Replies

• jyogit
    jyogit Posts: 280 Member
    Options
    surprisingly enough yes they do..but the countertops i umyself doing while watching the kettle boil .. lol ..
    i tend to workout at work on a hard concrete floor so knuckles kill with only a thin yoga mat under me.. im the same with full planks..on arms im fine but wrists i bail out of after about a minute .. i hate being not able to do stuff ..
  • feralkitten1010
    feralkitten1010 Posts: 219 Member
    Options
    JoRocka wrote: »
    I have been exercising for about 8 months doing strength training and cardio. (Jillian Michaels Total Body revolution) I am stronger and thinner but I still cannot do regular style push ups. I can only do the women version with your knees on the floor. What exercises help build the muscles you need to do push ups?

1st things first.
    that is not a "woman's version push up"

there is no such thing as "women" exericses, or "men's" exercises.

There are modifications. That's it.

Second- get off the floor and off your knees- you're not going to move to full push ups because as you can tell- it is just not effective.

Start doing full extended push ups on a wall- or if you have stairs- that's the best option- do 5-10 on a higher step- do them till you get comfortable- then start doing a few say 2-5 on the step lower- gradually move yourself down the stairs so you progress to the floor with a full body length extended push ups. Being on your knees really inhibits training for a push up.

Also you can do "negatives" which in push ups aren't really negatives- they are just slow push ups- without the UP part.