Ideas for non refrigerated lunches?

Options
I'm a college student who is stuck on campus from 8 am until almost 5 at night, and I only have time for a 45 minute lunch break. I'm trying to avoid fast food, which is basically all we have. I don't have access to a refrigerator, so I'm just wondering if anyone knows of some lunch ideas that will keep until lunch and don't take up a lot of space in my bag (I'd rather not carry around a lunch box, since I'm carrying so much around already)

Replies

• jamesfreire
    Options
    Just my opinion from my experience, pretty much anything you bring with you won't spoil in 4 or even 8 hours. This is especially true if you keep it in a 'thermal' type bag. I bring lunch all the time and just leave it next to my desk. A cooked piece of chicken, some rice, veggies, etc will not go bad that quick. Quality deli meats last quite well too because of the salt and nitrates.
    If they are cooked well and put in clean containers without being handled with bare hands, they last. Cooking sterilizes the food a lot when compared to storing some raw meat. (Heck, I let a whole chicken get to room temperature for a few hours before cooking it, on purpose).

I wouldn't worry about it and just bring whatever you want. Maybe keep an ice pack in your thermal bag, and things will stay cool for most of the day

-James
  • RavenLibra
    RavenLibra Posts: 1,737 Member
    Options
    clif bars... bottles of "Ensure"
  • FancyPantsFran
    FancyPantsFran Posts: 3,687 Member
    Options
    apples, bananas, grapes

Cliff bars, almonds walnuts you can pack sandwiches too they wont go bad that fast
  • yc4king
    yc4king Posts: 117 Member
    Options
    My lunch almost every day is a sandwich and yogurt. Both will last just fine for lunch or supper from 7am in your backpack. I'd recommend a rigid plastic container for the sandwich to prevent crushing it :P
  • booboo68
    booboo68 Posts: 302 Member
    Options