Diet vs. exercise

Options
Hi,

I've been doing MFP for 10 days so far, and it's really helping me to focus on what (and how much) I eat.

I've always cooked pretty much everything from scratch, but eaten large portions. I now realise I must have been getting huge amounts of calories from olive oil because my first step when making a pasta sauce/curry/tagine/chilli/roast veg etc. was to add a massive glug of oil to the pan - I'm now measuring in tsp and tbsp depending on how much food I'm making. A typical pasta portion for me would be at least 100g - I'm now weighing it and having 80g.

In addition to having previously eaten good food in excessive portions, I also have a tendency to eat crap when stressed. In particular, I have a habit of calling at the supermarket or drive thru on my way home from work and easily eating 500+ calories whilst driving home because I feel like I deserve a treat after a hard day (I'm a teacher). It's currently the summer holidays so I haven't been doing that. So overall, I am definitely consuming far fewer calories that I did before.

However, my food calories are still not that low each day. Looking back over the last few days, my food totals have been 1812, 1759, 2070, 1772, 2241, 1997, 2074. So I've basically stopped overeating like I was before, but I'm just eating a fairly normal amount for a woman. But because I'm used to overeating, I feel like I've cut so much, I keep wanting snacks, I measure out a meal that is smaller and lower in fat than what I'm used to and am horrified when it's still 800 calories or something... I love food, enjoy cooking, and want to eat healthily but not deprive myself of food I enjoy.