Feeling Sick after work outs

barbosa22
barbosa22 Posts: 178 Member
edited September 22 in Fitness and Exercise
What do u do? Or how do u handle feeling sick after a work out. Like dizziness and feelings of vomiting. What can be done prior to a work out to counter this?

Replies

• hpsnickers1
    hpsnickers1 Posts: 2,783 Member
    depending on how hard the workout was, you might have overdone it. My guess is to just sit down and relax and hope it goes away. When I first started walking I would get very, very dizzy if I walked too hard.
  • kathleennf
    kathleennf Posts: 606 Member
    You need to see a doctor and get a stress test. Seriously. (I'm a doctor.)
  • AdamATGATT
    AdamATGATT Posts: 573 Member
    Usually when this happens to me, it means I've pushed myself too hard, too fast.

Take more breaks during your workout. Pace yourself! Drink plenty of water before, during and after your workout as well.
  • barbosa22
    I was almost passing out. I am constantly drinking water all day and took sips during.
  • kimjoan
    kimjoan Posts: 192 Member
    What the doctor said. It is not normal to feel that way after working out, especially all the time. For me, if I don't have any or enough fuel in my body prior to a workout I get kind of light headed and feel weak.
  • Aeriel
    Aeriel Posts: 864 Member
    Take a look at your calorie intake. If you have dropped your calories too low, your body might be starved for fuel. I had to adjust my rate of weight loss back after I lost 30 lbs because I was dizzy and blacking out during workouts. By eating a few hundred more calories a day, my problems were solved and I have my energy again. If you have been at this a while and are still set at the maximum rate of loss, cut it back by 0.5 pounds a week and see if that helps.

Oh and talk to your doctor too.....might be something underlying that needs to be addressed!

Edited to add: