What would you add to this routine?

Options
I'd like some suggestions on my workout routine- I had been lifting for about 3 months and getting great results, but got a new job and some unforeseen craziness, and fell off the wagon for 8 months. I'm sick of my own excuses, and am getting back into a routine. That said, week one back is kicking my butt after being so sedentary! So keep in mind that I'm starting back out from a place of being fairly out of shape, so I plan to increase the time of my workouts as I am able to handle more. This is what I currently do:

-4 heavy lifting sessions, on average 20mins. I do these at home with free weights/bar, your foundational compound moves.
- 2 30min sessions on treadmill at the gym (following C25k- my cardio is atrocious)

Usually, after my treadmill sessions, I do about 15-20 minutes on the machines at the gym because if I left after the treadmill, I would hit bad traffic, and I might as well spend the time active rather than sitting public transit. I do the machines because the free weights section at my gym is usually packed, and I prefer to do free weights at home because my husband can spot me.

If I only had an extra hour a week to add something in, what would you recommend? Currently, what I have described above still feels pretty brutal, so I was thinking about walking, bodyweight exercises, or possibly the hour long yoga class my gym offers. Is it worthwhile to add one of those things in, or should I wait until I am a bit stronger and allocate that time to more heavy lifting/cardio?

For the record, my goals are to lose body fat, get stronger, eventually gain muscle once I have adequately cut down on my weight. I'm about 20lbs from where I want to be on the scale, but ultimately don't care about the exact number if I'm getting more muscular and strong.

Replies

• beesareyellow
    beesareyellow Posts: 335 Member
    Options
    What exactly is involved in your 20 minute lifting sessions?
  • kirkor