Booty gainz plateau (pics)

Options
pics are 4 months apart

http://i58.tinypic.com/dpw968.png

Ive been rly frustrated with my lack of gains in the glutes. I have been training for 10 months now and i havent noticed a lot of diff in the last four months. However, my strength has been increasing,, currently squatting 185Lbs. I also squat lighter on some days but deeper.

my main leg day ezercises are squats, dumbbell deadlifts, leg press, hip abductions, lunges

I havent tried hip thrusts yet because it seems intimidating to set it up lol

anyways what can i do??? im getting rly annoyed and obsessive w my gains

Replies

• wargrrl
    wargrrl Posts: 76 Member
    Options
    bump
  • Tresiel
    Tresiel Posts: 98 Member
    Options
    Pic didn't work for me but care to go into more details - routine, all exercises (reps/sets), current macro breakdown (kcals per day) etc?
  • Brolympus
    Brolympus Posts: 360 Member
    Options
    If you are hitting a plateau, here are things to check for:

-Have you tried increasing your calories? Your BMR gradually rises as your muscle mass increases. If you have been weight training for 10 months, and haven't seen results in 4 months, it is highly possible you are now eating at maintenance and no longer at a surplus needed to gain muscle. You have just gained more muscle and your body has a higher calorific upkeep. MFP will NOT adjust your calories for you correctly. I would advise readjusting your calorie goals at every couple pounds of weight gained (or lost).

-Have you tried doing alternative exercises? Different weight/rep schemes? Have you tried using an isolate exercise machine for glutes? Yes, the machines are constricting to movement, but sometimes isolate exercises "wake" your muscles up if they are getting lazy. I definitely have to do this to my triceps, those muscles are LAZY. They hate getting bigger unless I absolutely punish the crap out of them.