Have you tried GLP1 medications and found it didn't work for you? We'd like to hear about your experiences, what you tried, why it didn't work and how you're doing now. Click here to tell us your story

Why am I starving the day after weights?

I'm very new to strength training (going on 3 weeks) so I'm sorry if this is a stupid question. Every time I do minimal strength training (20 min. lifting weights or body weight training like pushups and squats) I am starving the whole next day. I also end up feeling weak and tired. My legs shake under me while I walk. Is there something I can do to prevent this or to counteract it? I know the obvious answer is to eat but I ration my calories out very carefully and don't want to just stuff my face.

My diary is open so feel free to look. I don't log my strength training because it is so light and it doesn't burn a lot. I also don't log my water but I go through a full Brita pitcher at work and usually have another 24-32oz at home. I am aware that I have a lot of spare calories at the end of the day. I usually go hog wild on Saturdays so I eat light during the week to make up for it. If I don't do any strength training, that is normally more than enough food to keep me feeling full.

I would really appreciate any help you can give me. I want to get stronger (and generally be less squishy) but I feel so bad the day after that I'm considering just dropping strength training all together. Thanks!

Replies

• mymodernbabylon
    mymodernbabylon Posts: 1,038 Member
    Probably not enough food. I would think that at your goal weight that 1200 calories is far to aggressive - do you still have it set up to lose a lot of weight?

Some people eat more on the days when they are lifting, particularly carbs & protein. I would say that even if you add an extra 200 calories it will help. Don't give up strength training...we need muscle even more when we get older than ever before, plus it's great for your bones.
  • GothyFaery