Help me choose a bike

Options
A few months ago I started riding my bike as a form of cross-training for a half marathon. I've discovered I love to ride and would like to pursue it further. Problem is, my bike is a 10-year old piece of garbage from Costco which weighs a ton. I need a new bike but am totally uneducated and a bit overwhelmed with all the choices.

I live in a fairly hilly area, I ride on a combination of road and packed gravel, and I occasionally have my son and his friend in the trailer in back (an extra 70 pounds), so I'm pretty sure a hybrid is right for me but other than that, I'm clueless.

What are some tips to help me select the right bike?

Replies

• bwogilvie
    bwogilvie Posts: 2,130 Member
    Options
    Oh, your profile says you're in Vancouver. I had a reasonably good impression of the Comor shop at West 4th and Burrard, and Dizzy Cycles and a branch of Reckless are not far away, so if that's a convenient spot to go, I would check out the offerings there. For a decent bicycle, the first thing to look for is a shop with which you feel comfortable. If a sales clerk tries to steer you to a particular kind of bike without asking what kind of riding you intend to do, what you ride now, and how experienced you are, thank them for their time and find another clerk or another shop.

For your kind of riding, and depending on your budget, the bikes I would consider are:

1. Hybrid. Advantages: relatively inexpensive, good gearing range for hills. Disadvantages: upright riding position is less comfortable on longer rides; often heavier than road bikes; sometimes has front suspension, which is unnecessary and adds weight.