Can I maintain on 2000?

Options
Hi!
Currently I am eating around 1750-1800 calories per day and maintaining for the most part. I don't "exercise" but do fast paced Vinyasa yoga 1-2 times per week for an hour each time. I am also a college student and walk campus as well as do daily errands, cleaning the house/chores, and walking my dog. Like I said, I don't run, workout, etc. but for the most part of the day I am on my feet.
I eat pretty clean... I am vegan (small traces here and there...not strict) and dairy free.
I would love to maintain on 2000, but is that too much for my small build?

Replies

• GauchoMark
    GauchoMark Posts: 1,804 Member
    Options
    If you have a history of maintaining on 1750-1800 calories, then unless you increase your activity level, by another ~200 calories a day, then no, you will gain weight over time.

Use your actual results versus your food logs to determine your maintenance level - you already did that apparently and it is around 1750-1800 calories.
  • sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options
    Currently I am eating around 1750-1800 calories per day and maintaining for the most part.
    This is the important stuff.
    I eat pretty clean... I am vegan (small traces here and there...not strict) and dairy free.
    Irrelevant to your calorie requirements I'm afraid.
    I would love to maintain on 2000, but is that too much for my small build?
    No - but it is too much for your small build and current activity/exercise if you are maintaining on 1800 cals a day.
    Sounds like the best solution is to work in an extra 200 calories of either exercise or general activity into your lifestyle if you want to be able to eat more.
  • The_Enginerd
    The_Enginerd Posts: 3,982 Member
    Options