Is it considered cheating??

Options
I stick to my 1200 calories during the week. On the weekends, if I have something going on, I stick to my calories needed to maintain. (The extra 500) I've always said I'll never go on a diet because the minute I say I can't have something, I'm doomed from the begining.
I was in NYC for a yankees game and you betcha I got a hotdog at the stadium!
Anyway, I realize it'll take longer to lose the weight, but it this going to hurt me with the extra calories once or twice a week? Does my body get used to the 1200 during the week and use the extra 500 towards fat??
:) I'm a newbie here, still trying to figure it all out. Thank!!

Replies

• Aprilxlirpa
    Aprilxlirpa Posts: 46 Member
    Options
    I stick to my 1200 calories during the week. On the weekends, if I have something going on, I stick to my calories needed to maintain. (The extra 500) I've always said I'll never go on a diet because the minute I say I can't have something, I'm doomed from the begining.
    I was in NYC for a yankees game and you betcha I got a hotdog at the stadium!
    Anyway, I realize it'll take longer to lose the weight, but it this going to hurt me with the extra calories once or twice a week? Does my body get used to the 1200 during the week and use the extra 500 towards fat??
    :) I'm a newbie here, still trying to figure it all out. Thank!!
  • debuckl
    debuckl Posts: 360 Member
    Options
    I think it is good for you to go over or under every once in a while. That way your body doesn't get used to one way of doing things. Sometimes going over can actually give your metabolism a kick in the pants.
  • jill5677
    jill5677 Posts: 56 Member
    Options
    "Dieting" should be done at a pace that you are comfortable with. If you need more calories on the weekend and are aware that the weight loss may take longer, then I think you are 100% not cheating. You are doing what's right for you.