Too much protein ok???

Options
Ok, so I'm on day 4 and have noticed that every day I go over my protein, is this ok? This morning when I weighed myself I have lost 5 lbs already but I just wanted to know if I continue to go over my protein will that be ok???

Replies

• fitoverfifty
    fitoverfifty Posts: 192 Member
    Options
    It depends on what diet you're on. Some are very high in protein. You can read up on it on Google ( pros and cons)

As for going over a little bit, I don't think it's a big deal.

You can also change the percentages of carbs/fat/protein on your personal settings.

My husband is pre-diebetic and needs to have protein with every meal....so his is set higher.

Hope this helps a little....I am not an expert by any means :-)
  • kimmerroze
    kimmerroze Posts: 1,330 Member
    Options
    I have heard somewhere that, going over on your protein is okay, I have also heard a rumor that you can eat up to as much as your target weight in protein and still be okay, so if you weigh 150 and wanna weigh 120 then you can eat as much as 120g and still be okay...

.. I just heard this second hand, not from a notable source tho.

Personally I would say that if you are losing weight then you are doing all the right things! keep it up!! :)
  • lachamblee
    Options
    I've been thinking of trying to get more protein myself because of something I read that said you should eat 1 gram of protein for every pound of your goal weight. So, if your goal weight is 130, you would need 130 g of protein. I don't know, but it makes me want to try to get more.
  • sweetie89207
    Options
    well i just remembered that this site i posted yesterday had some info on that- their number 1 talks about protein= check it out!

http://health.yahoo.net/experts/eatthis/15-worst-health-diet-myths
  • ashlee954
    ashlee954 Posts: 1,112 Member
    Options