Running/Jogging Questions

hill2302
hill2302 Posts: 139 Member
edited September 23 in Fitness and Exercise
I'm relatively new to running. Only up to a little over two miles. I try to run about 1-2x a week, more hopefully. I'd like to build up distance and speed over time. 1/2 marathon one day in the future? who knows. But here's my questions:

1) Is it better to run before or after you eat. I will sometimes run after work and before dinner and find myself tired and low on evergy. if I run after I eat, i sometimes feel loaded down.

2) Should I be loading up on water or any thing in particular before I run?

3) Should i be eating or drinking anything in particular after I run?

I guess these questions could apply to just exercise in general, couldn't they?

I'm really ignorant and clueless when it comes to nutrition.

thanks.

Replies

• kac7700
    kac7700 Posts: 125 Member
    I run quite a bit. For me, I have to have nothing to eat at least 2 hours before a run. If I have anything, a banana gives me nice slow release carbs that keep me going without fatigue up to 4-5 miles.

Don't drink too much before you run, it will slosh around and give you a sideache. It's all about properly fueling your body during the day or the night before so you have the energy stores available.

The best thing after a run is to have protien and carbs within an hour. Chocolate milk is the best post-run fuel (which is why you usually see that and bananas on the food table after a race!) Stay away from processed "sports drinks", milk will give you everything you need and it will fill you up and keep you from ravenously raiding the fridge!
  • tgh1914
    tgh1914 Posts: 1,036 Member
    I'm relatively new to running. Only up to a little over two miles. I try to run about 1-2x a week, more hopefully. I'd like to build up distance and speed over time. 1/2 marathon one day in the future? who knows. But here's my questions: