Max heart rate and exercise

Options
I've just recently bought a heart rate monitor, hoping to use it as motivation to push myself a little harder during my daily cycle commute. I've been riding the 10km to work and back most workdays for the past 4 years but would like to improve my fitness. I'm 37, so most of the calculators out there suggest that my MHR should be somewhere between 183 and 194. I've read that I should aim for 70-90% of this MHR (around 128 to 174). But using the monitor on my regular cycle route at my normal pace, I find my actual heart rate during exercise ranges from about 145 at a very comfortable cycling pace to between 190 and 240 when I push myself on uphill slopes (and even then, I feel pretty good). My resting heart rate is about 60 and my heart rate recovers to below 100 in the time it takes me to lock up my bike when I get to work. Is this unusual? Is it unhealthy? Which number should I use as my MHR for calculating training targets? 183 or 240? Will I counter-intuitively improve my fitness if I cycle slower rather than faster?

I'm using a Kathmandu heart rate monitor, cycling alone (so there's almost no chance it's cross-talking with another monitor). I'm overweight (BMI=29) and am currently on a sensible diet to lose weight.

Replies

• _the_feniks_
    _the_feniks_ Posts: 3,443 Member
    Options
    I'd use 183 for your training targets. 70-90% of your MHR would be anaerobic. If you are trying to lose weight, you should be around 119-156 (65-85%), which would be aerobic exercise. Aerobic is where you want to be if you want to increase strength and endurance. Not to mention, you burn more calories in that range. Anaerobic exercise works at or above the body's oxygen intake capability and cannot be maintained for a long period of time.
  • significance
    significance Posts: 436 Member
    Options