Birth control = EXCUSE!

Options
I am prepared to be crucified for my opinion but here goes. I believe that many women use their birth control as an excuse for weight gain. Let me be clear please and state that I really think that some birth control can make you gain some weight. I know that the hormones affect different women in different ways. But, I sometimes just want to shake my head at the women who claim they have gained 40, 50, or even more pounds, strictly from their birth control.

I am not a doctor, and I am sure that there is an exception out there who can back up their claim that they gained 50lbs from their birth control alone. I am also not talking about mood swings from the hormones. I am specifically referring to weight gain.

I just had a conversation with a co-worker who is, let's just say, clearly obese. She was telling me about her birth control medication and how much she has gained from it. I see what she eats for lunch, and know from what she says to me that she doesn't exercise that much. I don't want to be rude to her so I just nod and smile. I am not a fan of excuses.

Why do some people try to kid themselves? You can lie to everyone, but yourself. I sometimes wonder what they tell themselves when noone is around to convince.

Replies

• Ashleymf22
    Options
    I did the ring for a year and didn't gain from it I gained cause I am lazy and over eat!!
  • akh426
    akh426 Posts: 7
    Options
    I am NOT a fan of excuses either! I used to use lots of excuses for my weight gain....birth control was never one of them. I have to agree, that's ridiculous. I can see it MAYBE making you gain 5-10 lbs., MAYBE, but more than that....bad excuse. Maybe you could suggest to her to try a different birth control or talk to her doctor about the weight gain. He will set her straight!
  • k2d4p
    k2d4p Posts: 441 Member
    Options
    I did the ring for a year and didn't gain from it I gained cause I am lazy and over eat!!