frustrated and stressed

Options
I am an extremely busy university student. Between my eight classes this semester (it's that hellish part when the end of midterms and the beginning of finals start to blend into one big mass of stress) and my extracurricular activities that keep me locked in meetings at least three times a week or committed to volunteering activities like volunteering at a soup kitchen once a week...I just can't find the time to eat properly!!

I have no time to go grocery shopping regularly since I have to commute by bus and then carry everything I buy the 15 minute walk between my apartment and the bus stop...It's an over two hour excursion...but at least it's a good workout lol. I only have a mini-fridge with no freezer (campus residence sucks!) So I can't keep frozen veggies and fruit on hand and have practically no room for much food at all. I have been keeping on schedule with my workouts since they're in the morning and I work out with friends who make me keep on track....

So what happens is I run out of fresh (healthy) foods quickly and don't have much time to cook even when I do have the right foods around. I find myself frequently skipping meals because I'm too stressed and forget to eat or have nothing that's quick enough to throw in my bag on my way to class... When I do have time to eat (which is when I'm to the point that I'm so hungry I'm feeling weak) my body craves carbs and sweets to fill it up quickly and I end up eating the wrong things...

I know that my eating habits are only adding to my stress and NOT helping me get into triathlon-ready shape...but the problem is I really don't know how to fix it!! Does anyone have any suggestions??

Replies

• lauralu
    Options