Obligatory introduction post! Losing body fat

Options
Hey! I'm Rowan, 22, and I'm kind of new to the whole diet-thing. I'm actually not looking to lose weight so much as I'm looking to get a better muscle/fat ratio. I mean, I'd love to drop about 10 pounds but that's it, and if I gain them back in muscle then I'm ok with that too. Also I just want to try eating healthier, and as a college student I'm not going to get a whole lot of support from my pizza-and-fast-food-guzzling fellow students. Doesn't help that I have a rep as being a baker so everyone always wants to get together and make all sorts of delicious sugary junk foods with me. I basically have a huge anti-support network rather than a support network. :\ So yes, hi, nice to meet you all!

ANYWAY I was also wondering, right now all I have is a scale of questionable accuracy. A good body fat scale would be nice, but on a college budget I can't really afford one. So since I'm focusing more on losing body fat than just losing weight, can anyone recommend a cheaper way to get a decent idea of your body fat %?

Replies

• keta6atl
    Options
    hi!....great question... unfortunately the scales are overpriced and truly aren't accurate at measuring bodyfat...you can buy some inexpensive skinfold calipers....learn how to use them correctly..and only be out 10-20 dollars...
    Rob
  • RPerry44
    Options
    Hi,