Advice for weight training & toning

Options
So this weekend I bought a 5lb dumbell to tone my arms - I have two things I know to do (bicep curl and tricep extension), but how often should I do this? I'm using a small weight a) because I'm just starting out and b) because I want to tone, not get that female bodybuilder look. Any other things I should do? (My focus is upper arm because that's where all the fat is.)

Also, I was hoping to tone my tummy and love handles - suggestions? I know sit-ups, crunchies, and side crunchies. Anything else I can be doing? And again, how often? I know generally you can't work on the same thing every day, you need to rest your muscles and let them rebuild.

Thanks everyone!

Replies

• bwleung89
    bwleung89 Posts: 55 Member
    Options
    best exercises for toning are high rep with less than 30 sec rest between sets so 3 sets of 12-15 reps of
    curls
    bench
    flys
    over head press
    and really anything will help
  • foxxybrown
    foxxybrown Posts: 838 Member
    Options
    You should buy SHAPE and/or SELF magazines. They have exercise routines in every issue.
  • dhutt2011
    dhutt2011 Posts: 77 Member
    Options
    Checkout this link http://realwomensfitness.com/upper-body-exercises/top-5-arm-toning-exercises/

These seem to use dumbbells. As far as how many start of with 3 reps of 12-15 for each excercise.

Best of luck!
  • hpsnickers1
    hpsnickers1 Posts: 2,783 Member
    Options
    You won't get 'that female body builder' look lifting heavy weights. That is a complete and total myth. You would have to eat mass amounts of calories, protein, lift weights hours and hours a day and TAKE TESTOSTERONE PILLS to look like a female body builder. Our bodies are not designed to bulk up. It is testosterone in men that causes helps them bulk up.