New Vegetarian!

Options
Hello everybody! I'm new to this message board thing. Kinda just a reader, never a poster. But I need help...I'm trying to cut out meat and need friends to inspire me along the way. I'm married with 3 kids and there is no way the husband is going to go along with it. I've gone vegetarian before and I just cook my meals along with theirs but that is so tiring. The family has reluctantly agreed to go one night a week without meat, so that is a start.

I would love to read your updates on how your diet is going and the food choices you are making. I need to find interesting ways to slowing incorporate veggie foods into their lives.

Thanks and happy dieting!
Jody

Replies

• Luckymam
    Luckymam Posts: 300
    Options
    Hi! I'm nearly vegan - 'nearly' because I do occasionally eat fish if I go out for a meal, and I wear leather and wool. Normal day to day eating is animal-free though.

I have a hubby and 3 kids who eat meat. Add me if you like.
  • Nataliethin81
    Options
    Hi there! I'm a vegetarian, have been for 2 years. You can do it! I know it can be exhausting with a family but make it a goal. You will feel amazing! Good luck!
  • modernfemme
    modernfemme Posts: 454 Member
    Options
    Good morning!! I'm so excited to reply to this, because I feel like our journey is kind of the same. (Except I don't have any kids yet!!)

I saw way too many horrific videos where animals were skinned alive and I just couldn't carry that burden anymore. My husband pretty much thought I was insane I was going vegetarian, but it didn't come to a shock because I had been talking about it for months before I finally bit the bullet.

I went totally cold turkey and made a commitment. The husband, although no way in heck he was going vegetarian, was starting to support my decision.

Wait - it gets better.