Maintaining Weight

Options
Hi everyone.

I have been dieting for 6 months. I went from weighing 180lbs to 132lbs in 6 months (Yay!), but despite the lost and the incredible long and gruesome journey which consists of 30 minutes of jogging at 9km/h to now 11km/h (on the treadmill) 4-5 times a week and counting my calories like crazy (it's not until last week that I've discovered myfitnetnesspal), I'm now stump with a small problem: how am I suppose to maintain my ideal weight for good?

Another question I would like have an answer is which is more accurate the BMR+AMR (active metabolic rate) formula or the BMR+ Harris Benedict Equation? Personally, throughout my dieting period I've used the BMR+AMR formula to calculate the amount of calories required for the day minus 500-400 calories in order create a calorie deficient and thus to lose weight. I know myfitnesspal uses the BMR+AMR formula along with the Harris Benedict Equation, but I kind of find it a bit odd.

Finally, I've never cheated on my diet and my calorie consumption until today; I've binged and went over by around 475 calories. Should I resume my normal healthy eating habits the next day and just eat enough calories as required or should I go to a small diet by eating 200 calories less for 2-3 days?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Replies

• kdiamond
    kdiamond Posts: 3,329 Member
    Options
    First off, congrats on the weight loss! You've obviously put some thought into your program and it shows!

That being said, the Harris-Benedict is the most inaccurate form of BMR calculators out there, just for a little history it was derived from studies of lean, young, active males in a cold lab in 1919. I am shocked we even still have it around, it is so wildly inaccurate.

The BEST way to calculate your maintenance calories is if you know your lean body mass and body fat %.

Using the Katch-McArdle formula: