Exercise for Dummies.....need advice please!

emiann1985
emiann1985 Posts: 15
edited September 24 in Fitness and Exercise
I just got a membership to a gym and today was my first time going (this is the start of me going daily). Anyone have any tips on how I should start out, for how long, and what machines??? I'm new at this and I don't want to hurt myself, push myself to where I want to quit and I want to see results (weight loss). I'm open for any advice!! Thanks!

Replies

• The best experience I had was with a personal trainer who told me you will not consistently lose weight by doing the same exercise every day - change it up every time. In other words, one day focus on cardio, the next day weight training and the next day do circuit training. She was correct. I lost weight and looked the best I've ever looked. Unfortunately she moved to Argentina but it's the best advice I can give. Best of luck to you.
  • nsueflorence
    nsueflorence Posts: 295 Member
    most gyms offer a free hour with a trainer when you sign up. See if your gym offers that! They will take you though and show you how to use everything and where to start!
  • Thank You!!!
  • jkestens63
    jkestens63 Posts: 1,164 Member
    I have to agree, meeting with a Pt set me up on the right track. My first year I met with him every 4 months or so. Now that I'm almost at goal and want to push myself more and more I meet him 2x a month.

Congrats on getting out there. Remember you'll get back what you put into it. Good luck!!!!!
  • My best experience at the gym is taking classes!!

Find a schedule at your gym and take a class or two! Try to experiment with Yoga, kickboxing, weight lifting, Zumba, anything!
  • Goal_Seeker_1988
    Goal_Seeker_1988 Posts: 1,619 Member