Does 20-30 minutes of cardio really work?

Options
Hi. I am new to Myfitnesspal. I join a while ago but only used one day . Now I am 2 weeks and 3 days in, using daily. So far so good!

Question: Can you really benefit from 20 to 30 minutes of cardio a day?

Replies

• erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    I only do cardio twice a week (more in the summer) and usually for 20-25 minutes at a time. If you are working out for that short period of time you just have to increase the intensity.
  • dspearsb
    dspearsb Posts: 186
    Options
    Absolutely! It's all about keeping your heart rate up in order to work off the fat.
  • MOMvsFOOD
    MOMvsFOOD Posts: 654 Member
    Options
    The way I see it, better than 0 minutes!
  • qla3
    qla3 Posts: 8
    Options
    oh ok. Thanks for the feedback!
  • Panda86
    Panda86 Posts: 873
    Options
    Yep, but don't forget that strength training is just as important!
  • UneJolieFemme
    UneJolieFemme Posts: 86 Member
    Options
    Absolutely ! It will get you going and you might very well start liking cardio more and more. Or maybe you will like the results, and it will push you to do more. If 20-30 min is the max you can do a day its still better than nothing :)
  • J155
    J155 Posts: 2
    Options
    You need at least 18 mins to "turn on" the fat buring in you body. At my age I need all the metabolism boosts I can get. The cardio is also a great stress buster too. I combine with strength training to build muscle which also burns fat
  • tvanderberg
    Options
    Every little bit COUNTS!!!
  • riley711
    riley711 Posts: 298 Member
    Options
    Any activity is good, especially if you had not previously been active. I used to lead a very sedentary life (couch potato), so I set my MFP profile for 30 minutes of exercise 3 times per week. I try to do more, but not always able to. But yes, I do see a difference.
  • _Bro
    _Bro Posts: 437 Member
    Options