5K times

Options
debuckl
debuckl Posts: 360 Member
How fast should a person training for a little over 2 months be able to run a 5K. I'm running my first 5K soon but I feel too slow. Well from what I looked up online I'm very slow. Just want an realistic goal.

:flowerforyou:

Replies

• debuckl
    Options
    How fast should a person training for a little over 2 months be able to run a 5K. I'm running my first 5K soon but I feel too slow. Well from what I looked up online I'm very slow. Just want an realistic goal.

:flowerforyou:
  • MisdemeanorM
    MisdemeanorM Posts: 3,493 Member
    Options
    I would be happy to even be able to make it... not to mention picky on the time :laugh:
  • Jewlz
    Jewlz Posts: 135
    Options
    i have been training for 2 months also and i run a 5k in 35 min. i am slow but i am new at it.
  • timisw
    timisw Posts: 391 Member
    Options
    Everything is relative!

Hell, I was just talking to a Cross Country Runner from UofG tonight. She runs the 3.1 miles in under 18 minutes! HOLY HELL! THAT IS FAST! My best for 3.0 miles for the Marine Corps PFT was back in 1993 and I ran it in 17:45!

Try to make a goal. What do you run a mile in now? Say it was 11 minutes (~34 min for 5K). Run courses that are measured so that you can learn to pace yourself. Try to run the first mile in 10 min, the second in 12, and the third in 10 to 11. If you dont feel like running the entire 5K, try doing what I do now. I run 2 to 3 miles, and then walk until my heart rate drops to around 130. I then Spring until it is up to 180 (LOVE THE HRM).

The HRM is also good cause sometimes you have to trick your mind when running. It will tell you Holy Hell when really, your just cruising. I try to run and keep my heart rate at around 160 to 170bpm. The other day I thought I was going good, but looked down and I was only at 150 and my time REALLY showed it!
  • petdam
    petdam Posts: 16 Member
    Options