Advice Needed: Maintenace Strength training: lose more or no

Options
Here is my dilemma: I entered maintenance a few weeks ago. I am 5' 7" and 135 lbs give or take. My "goal" weight was just a number I pulled out of my hat when I dreamt of losing weight. I never thought I would get here. I am not unhappy with my body, per se, but I am not where I want to be physically. I have been focusing on strength training for a couple of months now and am pleased with the results for the most part. However, certain areas are masking the muscle behind pesky pockets of fat. Should I drop another 5 pounds? I do not want to sacrifice the lean muscle I am working so hard to showcase! I have never been in this position and need direction. I want to decrease my bmi and continue to focus on lean muscle mass. However, with certain areas still having fat (saddlebags, triceps, lower abdomen) the muscle cannot be seen. Trust me, I feel it under there when I flex.

Direction please from my fellow MFP members that have "been there, doing that" please or at least point me in the right direction to obtain some research based info. Thanks!

Replies

• carolinegeorgia
    Options
    ooh your the same height and weight as me, know what you mean about pockets of fat, personally I'm not sure losing another 5lbs would work for me as I really don't want to lose anymore weight from the waist up so I'm trying to do more exercise.
    sorry, not exactly answering your question! x
  • xraychick77
    xraychick77 Posts: 1,775 Member
    Options
    The thing is, to see all your hard work you need to get rid of the fat. And since you can not 'spot reduce' fat, all you can do is try to lose that fat. You can lose fat and maintain muscles. I have done it.