Morning Workout Crash!! Need Help

Options
I have recently started working out in the morning before going to work. I am an elementary school teacher so I need all the energy I can get to keep up with my kids. My workouts are from 5:30 to around 6:20 am and afterwards I feel fantastic but around 10am I start to crash and by lunch time I am soooooo sleepy. Any ideas on what I can do or eat maybe post workout or for lunch to give me my energy back? Yesterday I almost dozed off during a planning meeting. Any help would be greatly appreciated!! :smile:

Replies

• tweety170
    tweety170 Posts: 167
    Options
    What are you eating after your workout? And throughout the rest of the day? That will make a big difference if you're not properly fueling your body after a good workout. :)
  • meggonkgonk
    meggonkgonk Posts: 2,066 Member
    Options
    My mid morning snack is fruit- I like the sugar kick.
  • RTricia
    RTricia Posts: 720
    Options
    How are your sleeping habits? What is your protein intake? I'm a therapist - so my morning workouts need fuel afterwards so I'm fully there for each client throughout the day....
  • HannahPastoor
    Options
    Try keeping some nuts or healthy granola bars in your drawer. So if you are unable to go get a snack you have one right there!
  • blackmos
    blackmos Posts: 1
    Options
    I try and eat about 15 carbs before my workout in the morning (about 6 AM) then at my morning break I eat about 45 carbs (around 9:15 AM). This helps me stay energized and hold me over until lunch. I also will chew gum if I get hungry before noon. Are you getting enough sleep?
  • NoAdditives
    NoAdditives Posts: 4,251 Member
    Options