Weight not changing

wewon
wewon Posts: 838 Member
edited September 25 in Health and Weight Loss
Newbie here, so sorry if this has been asked before.

What causes the weight loss to stall out?

The reason that I joined this site is for that very reason. I figure that this will be a good way to keep a log of both my exercise and my caloric intake.

I've been eating better and running since the start of the year, loss 10 lbs by valentines day (2/14) one month later (3/14) and I'm still at the same weight.

I've read a thread or two and can see that I'm not the only one that experiences this.

Does anyone have any ideas how this happens? It doesn't seem possible (mathematically), none the less here it is.

Replies

• Im in the same boat. I have been at it for 40 days and have only lost 3lbs. Id like to know the answer to this question too, please.
  • erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,294 Member
    Newbie here, so sorry if this has been asked before.

What causes the weight loss to stall out?

The reason that I joined this site is for that very reason. I figure that this will be a good way to keep a log of both my exercise and my caloric intake.

I've been eating better and running since the start of the year, loss 10 lbs by valentines day (2/14) one month later (3/14) and I'm still at the same weight.

I've read a thread or two and can see that I'm not the only one that experiences this.

Does anyone have any ideas how this happens? It doesn't seem possible (mathematically), none the less here it is.

Eating too much, eating too little. Not measuring your food, overestimating your caloric burn. If you don't eat enough your metabolism can slow down (burn less calories) so you may think you are in a deficit when you are not as your system just slowed down from being underfed. The body can be a strange thing, and sometimes the math does not translate. If I tried to lose 2lbs/week the math may work, but I don't have than much to lose and it will not come off that way.