The New Rules of Lifting for Women

beedifferent
beedifferent Posts: 6 Member
edited September 25 in Fitness and Exercise
has anyone here tried this? I have been working out for a few months now, and really have been feeling I need to start getting serious with both diet and exercise.

I have been very frustrated in trying to figure out what a weight work out looks like for me. I am a 49 year old female that has 70 lbs to lose. I am pretty committed to working out as i meet my sister 6 days a week at 5:45 am at the Y. We swim three days a week. For the other three days we do some sort of cardio and then weights, but not a regimented program. For instance for a few weeks we ran/walked for 30 minutes then did a very haphazard weight work out. This past week we did a spin classes then weights.

I have read some reviews on this book and am very interested, but just think it might not be doable for me.

thanks for reading.

Replies

• Well, one thing I would suggest is consulting your doctor; he or she might be able to help you figure out how much your body is capable of tackling right now. Another thing I would suggest is reading several sources about weight-lifting, not just the one, since there are a lot of myths floating around about weight-lifting (especially where it concerns women).
    However, pretty much anyone can lift weights. You just have to ease into it. Start where you are comfortable and move up from there. Also, make sure you know the proper techniques for whatever weight exercises you're doing. Wouldn't want to get injured.