Diet Pills?

Options
Hey everyone! I'm very very VERY new to this site! I was wondering if any of you take any diet pills? I've never tried them before but I was just curious. :tongue:

Replies

• TiffanyDollface
    Options
    Hey everyone! I'm very very VERY new to this site! I was wondering if any of you take any diet pills? I've never tried them before but I was just curious. :tongue:
  • banks1850
    banks1850 Posts: 3,475 Member
    Options

Well, first off, Welcome! glad you could join our little world. :smile:

So this is an issue that some of us Vetrans have seen come up many times on this site. From experience, and research, this is my own personal take.
    Beside the fact that you don't need em in 99% of the cases, some of them have some pretty serious side effects, some just plain gross, others harmful, and everything in between. If you are considering something like that, IMHO you should probably ask yourself why, then consult with a doctor, then consult with another doctor then write all the reasons down, then remind yourself that for them to work you have to eat right and exercise (it says it right on the instructions on almost all of them), and if you're going to do that anyway, why use the pills? Add to all that the fact that the majority of people who take a "diet" pill gain that weight plus 10% back after they stop taking them and I think you will find a pretty compelling argument not to take them.

here are some articles from mayoclinic about this subject:

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/weight-loss/HQ01160

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/weight-loss-drugs/WT00013

Best luck to you.

-banks
  • TiffanyDollface
    Options
    Thank you so much =D I've been contimplating taken them for a while now. I had my son back in Feb & apparently I still eat like i'm pregnant! Which is my problem. I thought the weight would fall off like it does with everyone else but in my case, it hasn't.

Thank you for those articles, i'm going to read them now!