Prescription ADD medication, anyone else take it and how doe

Options
2»

Replies

• HeatherShrinking
    HeatherShrinking Posts: 805 Member
    Options
    Hope this doesn't derail your thread... But has anyone ever switched from a stimulant ADD med to one of the non-stimulant ADD meds? My doc said if you've been on a stimulant ADD med the non-stimulant ADD meds wouldn't work for you. I may eventually go to another doc for a second opinion, but has anyone tried this?
  • allroundthesun
    Options
    I don't take any of these meds, but I'm a teacher and over the years, I'd had several students who take them and struggled with the same eating/appetite issues.

Most of the kids I've known would eat a small breakfast (even something small is still something) before their a.m. dose and then do the same thing with their subsequent doses--if they needed any. I would also let them snack throughout the day, so when the mood to eat struck them, they could.

I'm sure none of this was remotely helpful. :laugh: Good luck to you!

No, it really is helpful, it's just good to hear that other people have the same issue, it's reassuring (not that I'm glad other people have this issue :laugh: but hopefuly you know what I mean). Thank you!

:heart: -- Juliet
  • allroundthesun
    Options
    I work in the mental health field and my son has ADD, so I understand what you are going through. You say that you have tried many other drugs with side effects, but there is a newer version of Adderall on the market right now that is called Vyvanse. It metabolizes in your body differently than the other amphetamines and has a smoother onset and offset. There are still some appetite suppressant concerns with it, but overall it seems to cause much less weight loss than others. (Vyvanse.com)

As far as eating breakfast, I'm not big on breakfast either and I find that drinking a protein shake or eating a protein bar helps. There are some good ones out there.

Good luck to you :bigsmile: