35 lost, 15 to go

Options
Lynn1315
Lynn1315 Posts: 26 Member
Hello...

I joined MFP in Feb 2011 because I was looking for a nice and easy place to count calories using a mobile app. Today is my first day looking at the message boards and i wish i would have looked sooner.

I am a mom of 2 beautiful daughters (6 & 3), and work full-time. 3 years ago, after having my youngest, I knew something had to change, but I wasn't mentally ready. About 2 years ago, I finally began exercising again. I have always struggled with my weight, but the pounds really came on in college, as I wasn't playing sports anymore. I really began to make progress and have lost 35 pounds in 3 years.

In January 2010, I became a runner. I started training for a 5K and just fell in love with running. It became my "me" time, the time I could think solely about me and not worry about whatever life was throwing at me. I started running more races including more 5k's, 8k's and 10k, and in Sept 2010, I ran my first 1/2 marathon. I'm now training for another 1/2 marathon on 5/1/11.

I feel like I have the exercise piece figured out. Its the calorie counting that I'm having a hard time with. Based on what I have been reading on the message boards, it appears as though I haven't been eating enough calories. i have been eating between 1200-1400 calories a day, yet some days burning 500 calories.. or on long run days, burning 1300 calories (and eating about 1500 calories). So based on what I'm reading.. I clearly think I need to up my calories.

I have 15 more pounds to lose, ideally I would LOVE to lose them by July or August, but based on the plateau I have been on, feel like it is hopeless. Today, I'm starting to up my calories and I hope to see some results.

Thanks for reading.. any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• WarmDontBurn
    WarmDontBurn Posts: 1,253 Member
    Options