How to count calories with a HRM

Options
So I just got home from work. On Sundays my work involved being on my feet all day and walking around a bit - I'm an event manager or sorts...anyway, I bought a HRM (timex - which I like a lot). So my question is, how do I count the calories burned during this non-traditional exercise acitivity? Here are the stats:

7.5 hours
Ave HR: 96
Peak HR: 139
Min HR: 66
Total Cal: 2684

this HRM takes into account my wieght and I have my maximum HR programed in to determine various workout zones.

Specifically, do I need to subtract what my "normal" cals would be? Some experience and explination of why would be very helpful. I don't feel I need to account for every single calorie burned but want to keep in close proximity so I can be sure I'm staying within a healthy amount consumed and expended.

Replies

• kalia87
    kalia87 Posts: 30
    Options
    I have the same monitor and I always think it tells me that it burns was more than what I actually burn. soooo bump
  • mangorabbit
    mangorabbit Posts: 219 Member
    Options
    This is a question that has plagued me at various times - though I have yet to take the time to actually look into what the manufacturers of the HRM's say about that...and to add to that, does MFP take into account one's 'baseline' calorie burn when computing calories burned?

Also, fmktjod - I love the disclaimer! ^_^
  • husker_gal
    husker_gal Posts: 462 Member
    Options