lost on where to start - strength training

Options
Hiya,

I was wondering if someone could help me a little, I've never done weight lifting before, and don't really like those weight lifting dvds(BORING!!!) plus I'm from the UK so god knows if we can even get all the ones everyone is raving on about on here.

I just want a simple all body routine, I have dumbells at home but not much else. I want to incorporate strength training into two sessions a week, as I already do zumba 3 times a week, and a hike/mtv dance exercise dvd over the weekend.

I'm trying to tone up, and lose weight(if its even possible)

Anyone got any ideas/routines for beginners??

XXX

Replies

• Dencrossgirl
    Dencrossgirl Posts: 501 Member
    Options
    bump
  • soriondee5
    soriondee5 Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    Hey!

Do you plan on doing your strength training at the gym or only at home? I haven't used any dvds, but when I was learning about strength training I found this book invaluable:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Body-Sculpting-Bible-Women/dp/1578262399/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1302529396&sr=8-4

It's a great resource and offers training routines in the back of the book that slowly ease you into the weight lifting world, from a complete beginner's program up to a hardcore cutting program. You can substitute exercises using the equipment you have available, too.

I base my workouts off of the book's routines and use this site to clarify any confusion over how to properly execute an exercise because it offers videos:

http://www.bodybuilding.com/exercises/

I started with nothing but a pair of dumbbells and a medicine ball, but now I'm totally hooked on strength training and I've become a gym rat =P

Hopefully others on here will have some advice to share, and you'll find something that works for you!
  • Raw07
    Raw07 Posts: 206
    Options
    bump
  • Raw07
    Raw07 Posts: 206
    Options
    bump
  • MyNameIsNotBob
    MyNameIsNotBob Posts: 565 Member
    Options